Minlaton, also called the 'barley capital of the world' due to the majority of the surrounding farm land producing top class malting barley, much of which is exported to Europe and middle-eastern countries through the massive Port Giles Silos and Bulk Handling Complex located on the coast approximately 55 km to the South-east.
Minlaton was proclaimed on 15th June, 1875, and is laid out similar to Adelaide with the main street being two chains in width, (approximately 40 metres today), and the side streets only one chain width. The main town area totals 118 acres and is surrounded by 297 acres of park lands. On the eastern edge of the town is an unique natural area of river red gums, the only known red gums on the entire Peninsula.
Nearby is the original Gum Flat Homestead, built about 1847–49. It is the main house of the old Gum Flat Pastoral Lease which once covered 107 square miles of Southern Yorke Peninsula.
Up to about 30 years ago extensive bagged grain stacking yards were on the southern edge of the town, but with the on-going development of Port Giles these were closed.
Minlaton today is a well-known community center with numerous shops, engineering works, Post Office, town hall, retirement village, nursing home, high school, hotel, car dealerships, extensive secondhand shop, tourism information center, fuel depots, and a population of about 1,000 residents.