Yorke Peninsula, South Australia - Aboriginal inhabitants

Aboriginal inhabitants
The Aboriginal Naranga Tribe which occupied the Peninsula was divided up into four sub-tribes - the Koornarrah which lived in the northern section; the Winderah which lived in the eastern section; the Dilpah which lived in the southern section, and the Warree who had the western section. Most lived in the coastal sections where fresh water was available in soaks behind the sand hills, or occasionally in large depressions in the limestone surface rocks. Especially close to the inland township of Curramulka, which is a native name meaning 'Emu Waterhole'.

Fishing was the main source of food along certain sections of the Peninsula’s seashore, and is so even today. One can discover the remains of native fish traps made from rocks, designed to allow fish to swim in at high tide and then become trapped as the tide went out.

European Settlement began in 1847 with the establishment of a sheep run at Oyster Bay (now called Stansbury), by a Mr. Alfred Weaver. He was soon followed by other settlers bringing over mobs of sheep the long way, by droving them along the east coast, which was extremely difficult to do due to the low heavy scrub that grew in places.

Naturally the local natives and the European settlers didn’t see eye-to-eye over ownership of the sheep and other livestock. Therefore quite often natives were caught stealing white man's property and duly caught and dealt with- usually with on the spot rough justice.